Unpopular Opinion: I Don’t “Love” Pokémon Sun/Moon

Hey gamers!

So this might be a spicy banger of a post, but it’s a topic, that I need to share. So here it goes…

I don’t love Pokémon Sun/Moon.

cd09a086c982a735f98079c90bd80dea.jpg

I’m not saying it’s bad, or I hate it, but I don’t love it.

Allow me to explain!

THE INTRO

Oh my God… The intro to this game is brutal. As a long time fan, the last thing I want to do is to have my hand held through the first several hours. I get that it’s catered to new fans of Pokémon, but come on… It’s excruciating.

I am a big believer that they way a game interacts with the player and it’s world, is indicative of the trust that the developers have in those who play it. Pokémon Sun and Moon guide you through ONE of the FOUR Islands, in it’s entirely.

pokemon_sun_moon_trainers.0.0

There are several games that lost me in the beginning because it’s introduction was tacked with tutorials and interruptions, and Pokémon Sun and Moon almost made that list…

THE NEW POKÉMON

Okay, let me preface this by saying that not all of the new Pokémon are ugly or bad, but good lord, some of them are atrocious.

sun_moon_video_thumbnail

I’m not expecting every new creature to be a 10/10, but I expected some of them to look at least pleasant enough for me to catch, instead of ignore completely. I honestly think that some of the designs deterred me from catching or battling wild Pokémon, just because I didn’t want to see them again.

Like look at this “thing“:

avK4VLp.pngEven it’s name is ugly: “Bruxish“. Ugh. No thanks.

THE UNWANTED CHANGES

So these next few things are personal, obviously.

I really liked the Super Training mini-games that allowed trainers to beef up their Pokémon that was introduced in Pokémon X and Y. Sun and Moon completely remove them, and force players to raise the EV’s in the wild, often via prolonged critter battles.

This is a harder way to track the stat changes, and it’s often a more boring way to do it.

Also, not a big fan of the changes to the gym leader format. I admired what the Kahuna and Trial Captains were as characters, but their challenges or “boss fights” were often lame and uninteresting. I miss the intensity of the gym leader battles from previous games.

In the end, my gripes are my gripes; they may not be fair for everyone but they are specific to me. I still enjoyed my play-through of the game, but I really don’t see myself returning to the region of Alola anytime soon, at least not on 3DS… 😉

Until next time gamers, it’s been a slice!

  • Chris Pie
Leave a Reply

