The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild – IMPRESSIONS

So after a mild hiatus, I’m back!

Tl;dr: School is/was insanely busy.

Anyway, I picked up the newest Zelda earlier this month and oh my goodness… Podcast incoming for sure. After nearly 3 weeks, I want to share a few things with you. Keep in mind, I haven’t finished the game’s story upon writing this blog post, but I have invested roughly 120 hours into Link’s newest quest.

Lemme list a few things that I want to note about this game:

  1. This game is BIG!

    The world is huge! Seriously.Coming from a guy who has played Skyrim for more hours than I care to share on this blog, Hyrule this time round is massive.

    And the best part is, it doesn’t feel empty. The world is truly immersive and alive. The NPC’s are colourful and reactive. The

    Don’t believe me? Check it out!

  2. The combat is fluid!

    Disclaimer: I consider myself a seasoned Zelda expert.
    However…

    I wouldn’t be honest with myself if I didn’t say that the formula wasn’t becoming repetitive. The differences between Ocarina of Time and Twilight Princess are few, in my opinion. And what Breath of the Wild does is great for the franchise.

    The game meshes exploration and combat; eat your heart out, Egoraptor!

    egorapter

    The game brings back the targeting mechanic from previous 3D Zelda games, but liberates the gamer at the same time. No longer do enemies feel like they’re taking turns attacking you, or you can just spam the same attack to get by. Battle decisions have consequences and timing is everything.

  3. Be prepared!

    On the topic of combat, being prepared no matter where you go is essential in Breath of the Wild. If you don’t have enough arrows or any meals ready when walking into a new area, you might be in for a shock.There are various ways to approach each situation, but always be ready for things to go south. You never know how hard an enemy might hit you, ending your adventure in a blink.

    Always make sure to grill those veggies before hand!

  4. It’s truly an open world.

    There is just no better way of saying it. The world is inviting in nearly every way.You can visit any region, in any order. You can challenge any dungeon, in any order. You can do nearly any side quest, in any order.

    And with Link being able to climb nearly anything, the possibilities are endless. No experience will ever be the same.

Anyway, my scatterbrain still has a lot of game left to process, and I don’t want to spoil anything for any new gamers.

But I just gotta say, this might just be my favourite Zelda game to date. Like ever!

2926481-zeldabotw_thanks_b_1920_1080.jpg

It’s been a slice guys!

Until next time!

  • Chris Pie
Leave a Reply

